2013 I-Club Award Winners Announced

I-Club Honors Outstanding Contributors and Volunteers 

The National I-Club has dozens of local I-Club chapters, who form a strong presence within their communities to gather Hawks together, to carry the message of the National I-Club, and to serve as a united voice of support for Iowa athletics across the state and beyond. Each year the National I-Club presents a slate of awards to a special few of the many outstanding contributors and volunteers.

The prestigious Hawk of the Year award is presented annually to an individual or couple who has exhibited an exceptional level of loyalty, enthusiasm, and generosity to Iowa Athletics. Forty year football season ticket holders Henry B. (’49 BSC) and Patricia B. Tippie have been named this year’s Hawk of the Year.  Henry and Patricia have been extremely generously to Iowa athletics, as well as the school that bears their name, the Tippie College of Business. Specific to athletics, they have endowed multiple scholarships and have contributed to many capital projects. The Tippie’s have been I-Club members for three decades.

The I-Club of the Year award is given to the local I-Club chapter that excelled in the conduct of its local events and showed an exceptional level of support for the Hawkeyes. This year’s award is presented to two of our outstanding chapters, the Polk County I-Club and the Carroll Area I-Club. The Polk County I-Club Board, led by long-time president Joe Chmelka (’85 BA), work year-round to promote the Hawkeyes and engage central Iowa fans in the Des Moines area. The chapter has endowed two scholarships, the Polk County I-Club Football Scholarship and the Polk County I-Club Softball Scholarship. In addition, they have also supported the Carver-Hawkeye Arena renovation campaign, the Iowa Football Legacy Campaign, the James M. Hoak Family Golf Complex campaign, the P. Sue Beckwith M.D. Boathouse, and more – and has maintained a Kinnick Society level gift ($7,500 or more annually) for close to 15 years.

The I-Club of the Year award was also presented to the Carroll Area I-Club. The Carroll Area I-Club is led by co-president’s Jeff Cayler (’80 BA) and Bill Wenger along with a committed group of area board members.  The chapter has been a consistent annual contributor to the I-Club since 1976. In the last three years they have increased their annual gift to the Kinnick Society level ($7,500 or more annually), along with multiple contributions to athletic capital campaign projects over the years. Most recently, the chapter committed to a six-figure gift to the Football Facility project.

The Volunteer of the Year award is presented annually to the volunteer who has been a tireless supporter and promoter of the Hawkeyes in a variety of roles and activities. Kim Bradwell (’98 MBA) from Urbandale, Iowa, has had a lifelong passion for the Hawkeyes. A 1998 graduate of the University of Iowa MBA program, Kim has been a supporter of the I-Club and Hawkeye Athletics for many years. She has been a member of the National I-Club for over 35 years, a football season ticket holder for 18 years and has been a member of the Polk County I-Club board for 11 years.  Kim has been serving selflessly and ably as the Polk County I-Club’s treasurer for the past nine years.

This year’s Special Commendation award is presented to the Siouxland I-Club in recognition of efforts going above and beyond the scope of normal activities and events. The Siouxland I-Club chapter is made up of a group of dedicated and passionate group of Hawks fans spreading the black and gold throughout the northwest part of Iowa and into South Dakota. Led by Bob Rasmus (’58 DDS, ’68 MS) and with the help of its board members, the Siouxland I-Club has grown their annual spring banquet over the years to host over 500 Hawk fans and contributors annually. The chapter has been contributing annually to the I-Club for over 30 years, most recently at the Golden Hawk level.

“Our I-Club awards are a wonderful opportunity for us to thank these special supporters and volunteers for their gifts and efforts over the past 12 months and to prepare for an exciting season of UI athletics.” said Matt Henderson, Executive Director of Development for Intercollegiate Athletics. “I-Club members help build enthusiasm while providing critical private support for Iowa Athletics.” 

I-Club members are Hawkeye fans who contribute $50 or more annually to UI intercollegiate athletic programs through the UI Foundation.  More than 19,000 friends and alumni of the University are I-Club members, representing every county in Iowa and nearly all 50 states in the U.S. 

The I-Club is administered through The University of Iowa Foundation, the preferred channel for private support to the University.  Please visit jointheiclub.com for information about becoming a member of the I-Club and supporting Iowa Athletics. 

Support Our Hawks! Give Now!

24I-Club Calendar

Full Calendar>