Fall Sports Recap

The 2011-12 University of Iowa athletic year is off to a great start as a number of Hawkeye sports teams enjoyed successful fall campaigns.

The Iowa football team finished the regular season with a 7-5 overall record and a 4-4 record in conference play. It's the 10th time in the last 11 years the Hawkeyes have finished in the league's first division. Iowa, bowl eligible for the 11th straight year, received its 10th bowl invitation since 2001.

The Hawkeyes are headed to the Insight Bowl, where they will face the Oklahoma Sooners on December 30, 2011. Iowa won the Insight Bowl a year ago, 27-24, over 12th-ranked Missouri in Tempe, Ariz.

Senior Marvin McNutt, Jr., earned the Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year Award in the Big Ten Conference. The inaugural award is given annually to the top wide receiver in the Big Ten. In eight Big Ten games this season, McNutt caught 53 passes for 856 yards and eight touchdowns. He led the conference in both receiving yards and receiving yards per game (107), and tied for the league lead with eight touchdown receptions. McNutt has 78 receptions for 1,269 yards and 12 touchdowns overall in 2011. The St. Louis, Mo., native is first in UI history in receiving yards in a season and career (2,815), as well as receiving touchdowns in a season and career (28).

McNutt and junior offensive tackle Riley Reiff earned first-team All-Big Ten recognition from both the coaches and media. Senior defensive back Shaun Prater was a first-team selection by league coaches. Prater earned first-team honors for the second straight year, while McNutt and Reiff each moved to the first team after earning second-team honors in 2010.

Sophomore running back Marcus Coker, senior defensive tackle Mike Daniels, and senior offensive guard Adam Gettis were named to the second team by league coaches, while senior defensive end Broderick Binns and junior defensive back Micah Hyde were named to the media second team. Daniels and Hyde each earned honorable mention recognition in 2010.

Four Hawkeyes were named honorable mention by both the coaches and media, including senior offensive tackle Markus Zusevics, senior punter Eric Guthrie, junior center James Ferentz, and sophomore linebacker James Morris. Binns and Hyde were named honorable mention by the coaches, while the media named Daniels, Gettis, Prater, and senior linebacker Tyler Nielsen to its honorable mention list.

The Iowa field hockey team reached the NCAA Tournament for the 21st time in program history. The Hawkeyes fell 4-2 in the first round to eventual national champion Maryland. The Black and Gold finished the season with a 15-5 overall record and a 4-2 conference mark. The 15 wins are the most since 2008, when Iowa recorded 18 during its run to the NCAA Final Four.

Three Hawkeye juniors -- Jessica Barnett, Sarah Drake, Kathleen McGraw -- earned All-Big Ten honors, marking the most for Iowa since 2008 when five Hawkeyes garnered all-league honors. Sophomore Kim Scraper joined the junior trio in receiving regional All-America honors, marking the most regional honors for the UI since 2008 when six Hawkeyes were named regional All-American. In addition, Barnett was named a national All-American, earning the 81st national All-America honor in program history.

The Hawkeye soccer team was one of eight Big Ten conference teams to qualify for the league’s annual tournament. Iowa finished the regular season at 13-4-2, the best overall record in program history. The Hawkeyes fell to Michigan State in the quarterfinals of the conference tournament, battling to a scoreless draw through 110 minutes of play with the Spartans wining 4-3 via shootout.

Four Hawkeyes received All-Big Ten honors. Senior Gabrielle Tinner received a sportsmanship award, and fellow senior Morgan Showalter was named to the second team all-conference defense. Cloe Lacasse and Caitlin Brown were named to the all-freshman team.

In cross country, Hawkeye juniors Jeff Thode and Nick Holmes, senior McKenzie Melander, and freshman Kayla Beattie earned all-region honors at the NCAA Midwest Regional Cross Country Meet. The Iowa women's team placed fourth of 28 teams with 146 points, while the Hawkeye men placed ninth of 25 teams with 278 points. Thode – an All-American in 2010 competing at the NCAA Championships for the second consecutive season -- finished 78th.

 Related Links:

Support Our Hawks! Give Now!

24I-Club Calendar

Full Calendar>